Boards & Commissions

There are several appointed boards and commissions that make recommendations to the Village Board. These boards and commissions are comprised of volunteer citizens who donate their time and efforts to the betterment of the Village. The Village President, with the advice and consent of the Board, appoints all board and commission members. All board and commission meetings are open to the public. Notice of meetings will be posted at Village Hall and the agenda will be posted on the here at least 48 hours prior to the meeting date.

If you are interested in serving your Village as a member of a board or commission, please fill out an application that can be found here. Any openings for a seat on a board or commission will be posted on this page when one is vacant. 

Please find a list of the Village's Boards and Commissions below:

 ALS Ad Hoc Committee

On August 21, 2012, the Village Board approved the Fire Department Staffing Plan dated July 17, 2012 (“the Plan”), which adopted a two-phase program to 1. staff the fire station 24 hours a day and 2. transition from a BLS to an ALS department. The Plan called for an increase in ambulance fees in order to fund these two objectives and mirror those fees charged by surrounding mutual aid communities.

The ALS Ad Hoc Committee was created to review revenues, expenditures, and service levels to determine whether changes to ambulance fees or service levels are warranted.

The ALS Ad Hoc Committee consists of 7 members comprised of the Public Safety Trustee as Chair, Village Administrator as Financial Analyst, Fire Chief as Fire Management Representative, one paid-on-call representative, one paramedic representative, and two public representatives with a fire department background.

ALS Ad Hoc Committee members include:
  • Raymond Grenier
  • Al Lewis
  • Mark Dodgson

 Code Enforcement Board of Appeals

The Code Enforcement Board of Appeals is responsible for appeals to the 2003 International Property Maintenance Code adopted by the Village of Berkeley.

The Code Enforcement Board of Appeals meetings are held on an as needed and at various times. Meetings are held in the Bicentennial Room located at the Village Hall.

Code Enforcement Board of Appeals members include:
  • Mark Dodgson
  • Bruce Routen
  • Art Rubel
  • Valerie Williams

 Economic Development Commission

The Economic Development Commission (EDC) provides business and economic advice, fosters economic development, and promotes cooperation amongst business organizations. Members of the EDC serve three (3) year terms.

Meetings for the EDC are held the second Thursday of each month (as needed) at 6:30 p.m in the Bicentennial Room of the Village Hall.

Economic Development Commission members include:
  • Jeff Teague
  • Rufus Janes
  • Andrea Routen
  • Socorro Favella
  • Maxine Jackson
  • Susan Kolzow

 Fire and Police Commission

The Fire and Police Commission is responsible for establishing the list for hiring and promoting personnel in the fire and police departments (except for the chiefs of each department). The Commission also holds hearings regarding disciplinary matters within the departments. Members on this Commission serve three (3) year terms.

The Fire and Police Commission meetings are as needed and at various times. Meetings are held in the Bicentennial Room located at the Village Hall.

Fire and Police Commission members include:

  • James Marino, Chairperson
  • Mark Panek, Secretary
  • Mike McNulty

 Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission is a seven member, appointed advisory body which makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees regarding but not limited to Subdivision Plat Approval, Special Uses, Zoning Amendments (Map or Text) and zoning variation requests. Members on the Commission serve five (5) year terms.

Meetings of the Planning and Zoning Commission are held at 7:00 pm on the fourth Thursday of each month (as needed) in the Bicentennial Room located at the Village Hall.

Planning and Zoning Commission members include:

  • Patrick Hurley, Chairperson
  • Philip Patti
  • Paul Bullard
  • Vincent Incopero
  • Jacque Jones
  • Susan Kolzow
  • Art Rubel

 Police Pension Board

The Police Pension Board manages the overall operations of the Police pension fund and its assets, including the investment of money and the administration of benefits. Members on the Police Pension Board serve two (2) year terms.

The Police Pension Board meetings are held on an as needed basis and at various times. Meetings are held in the Bicentennial Room at Village Hall. 

Police Pension Board members include:

  • Pamela Kollman
  • Paul Hendrickson
  • Len Norek
  • Blake Garcia
  • Rich Bruno